Socks + Thrift store find!

“Hello, my name is Michelle and I am addicted to thrift store shopping.”

Phew, feels good to get that out in the open!

 

Seriously, how else would  I have found these gems?  They are sock blockers from Lee Rowan and Co.  Not sure if the company is still around, but they manufacture hangers.  If you dig around, you may find some on Ebay.  They are brilliant!- the adjusters work well and it really helps to have the correct tools at your disposal.  I would not have gone looking for these, but there they were at the thrift store – 2 pairs and no one but a knitter would know what they were.

I had to try them out, so socks for my husband were next on the list.  I use a basic toe up recipe , magic loop, knitting both socks at the same time.  Socks are good portable projects.  A large portion of these were knit whilst waiting around – at the hockey rink watching my daughter play, at the bank, at the hockey rink watching my son play, at a different hockey rink …. you get the idea.  I knit from both ends of the ball to ensure they were both the same length.

Stitch pattern:  multiple of 5 – knit 4, purl 1

Knit tip:  I hold one strand of crochet cotton along with the main yarn at the toe and heel to reinforce them.

photo by Scott Lyons

Yarn:  Lana Grossa Magico  Colour:  2531

I have another ball of the same yarn so, coming soon – something like this for me – but I will use a toe up recipe and hopefully get 2 pairs out of 1 ball of yarn!  Then I won’t get my husband’s socks mixed up with mine!

About stickgirl

Hi, I am a mother of 3, wife, small business owner, chief cook & bottle washer, daydreaming of fashion and knitting.
This entry was posted in Knitting Pattern and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

