Mending

Can you tell how much I love these jeans?  They are baggy and slouchy and so very, very comfortable.  I don’t understand buying jeans that are already distressed.  The rips and worn out holes in these jeans? ….  I didn’t buy them – I earned them!

patch3_2286

 

The fabric scraps are from a fancy dress I altered for one of my Aunts a loooong time ago.  The pieces were only 3 inches x 3 inches, but I just couldn’t throw them out.  They make even my tattered jeans look dressy.  I hand embroidered the sun on a whim one day – still not sure why I chose that image.  I don’t consider myself “sunny”, but optimism is always good thing.

The larger patches are from other worn out jeans and machine stitched.  The hand stitching on those larger patches are my attempt at Boro, a Japanese method of mending  indigo.  It was meant for utilitarian purposes of recycling clothing and bedding by Japanese farmers between 1850 and 1950, but is now seen as an art form.  There are many beautiful examples on Pinterest.

As you can see there is a new spot that needs mending on the upper left leg, a perfect opportunity to attempt something more intricate with Boro.  Now – go fix something you love!  It’s worth it – tell your own story!

About stickgirl

Hi, I am a mother of 3, wife, small business owner, chief cook & bottle washer, daydreaming of fashion and knitting.
This entry was posted in DIY, Fashion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mending

  1. Hey loving the history on these jeans, reminds me of sisterhood of the traveling pants. Glad you enjoy mending your pants as they also happen to look very stylish. Thanks for posting 🙂 http://trend-mixblog.com/

Leave a Reply

