Accessories

 “The only thing that separates us from the animals is our ability to accessorize.”  Clairee Belcher (Steel Magnolias, Robert Harling):

That line makes me laugh every time!  

IMG_2363

I’m embarrassed to call these bracelets a diy because they are so easy to make.  No tools required.

Thread a bead onto some cord (waxed cotton or leather, 2mm), tie a knot beside the bead to keep it from sliding around,  cut your cord to length, add a drop of super glue and insert the cord into the closure.  Done.

The leopard head can be found at Michael’s.  Using thin cord, attach to either side, macrame each side, attach clasp. And done!

IMG_2369

This belt started life with lovely beads that probably spelled “Niagara Falls Canada” on it.    When I found it at the Goodwill, the beads were already gone.  I bought it, because it is made of good leather and I thought one day I might be ambitious enough to re-bead it with seed beads.  Well,  that wasn’t going to happen any time soon – so for a much quicker project I raided my daughter’s embroidery thread stash (used for making friendship bracelets).  Using random colours and a needle, thread through the holes, and secure on the back with glue.  I glued a piece of gros grain ribbon to the underside to protect the thread ends from wear and coming unglued.  Use any colour combination you like, I wanted this to be bright and colourful beacuse I plan on wearing it with a Canadian Tuxedo. (jean shirt and jean skirt).  I guess this is proof that “one person’s junk is another one’s treasure!  

About stickgirl

Hi, I am a mother of 3, wife, small business owner, chief cook & bottle washer, daydreaming of fashion and knitting.
This entry was posted in DIY, Fashion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Accessories

  1. jumpyjess says:

    Lovely DIY! Simple and pretty! 🙂

Leave a Reply

